A Memo From My Moveable Office

On the road again! This time, it’s just a quick jaunt to Toronto and then on to the lovely Niagara region, where Riccardo has accepted a fun little gig at a winery on Saturday night.

We’d planned to drive yesterday evening, but it got late and the traffic we spied from our 19th floor vantage point just looked too daunting (we later learned that the whole city came to a standstill thanks to the visit of a teenybopper group called “One Direction”. Thanks, teenage girls). Instead, we vowed to leave home at the ass-crack of dawn this morning, not really believing it would actually happen. But I guess we’re growing up, because at 6:30, we were pulling out of our garage with a carload of photo gear and a giant thermos of espresso.

At precisely 8:30, I transformed the car into my office. This is easily accomplished with our trusty portable battery powering my laptop, and my phone supplying the internet. (I’m blessed with the ability to read and work in a moving vehicle without the slightest touch of nausea.) It’s a real wonder of the modern age to be fully functional from almost anywhere, and I can’t tell you how liberating it is. (Of course, the complete absence of anything interesting along the way means there is little to distract me…)

Now it’s lunchtime, and I’m dashing this off just as we arrive at my cousin’s place in north Toronto. Tonight we’ll hang out here and tomorrow, we’ll make our way to Niagara for the day before booking it back to Montreal early Sunday morning. I’ll post some cool photos of Canada’s wine country next week.

That's FOUR hash browns.

Classic road trip move: Fast food breakfast. That’s FOUR hash browns.

Classic douchebag move: the truck barricade.

Classic douchebag move: the truck barricade.

 

You know you're in friendly small-town Ontario when the transaction fee is only $1.50.

You know you’re in friendly small-town Ontario when the transaction fee is only $1.50.

I was checking traffic and thought this said "Highway of Herpes".

I was checking traffic and thought this said “Highway of Herpes”.

Bonus of staying in Montreal last night: a backyard BBQ featuring an impromptu jam session and an appearance from Superman.

Bonus of staying in Montreal last night: a backyard BBQ featuring an impromptu jam session and an appearance from Superman.

...And I'll just throw in this one of our friend's amazing garden, complete with motion-sensored animal spraying device.

…And I’ll just throw in this one of our friend’s amazing garden, complete with motion-sensored animal spraying device.



2 thoughts on “A Memo From My Moveable Office

What do you think?

